Annual Awards

The PSA's Annual Awards are among the most prestigious honors available to poets. They offer emerging and established poets recognition at all stages of their careers, including our student poetry award and book awards for publishers.

2020 Individual Awards

Submission Details


October 1 to December 23, 2019

postmark date





Varies based on award

PLEASE NOTE: Due to COVID-19 the announcement of award winners will be delayed until June.

Open to PSA Members
Awards 1-5 are only open to PSA Members

Award 1—The Writer Magazine/Emily Dickinson Award, $250

For a poem inspired by Emily Dickinson, though not necessarily in her style.

Award 2
Cecil Hemley Memorial Award, $500

For a lyric poem that addresses a philosophical or epistemological concern.

Established by Jack Stadler, former Treasurer of the PSA, and his late wife, Ralynn Stadler.

Award 3
Lyric Poetry Award, $500

For a lyric poem on any subject.

Established under the will of PSA member Mrs. Consuelo Ford (Althea Urn), and also in memory of Mary Carolyn Davies.

Award 4Lucille Medwick Memorial Award, $500

For an original poem in any form on a humanitarian theme.

Established by Maury Medwick in memory of his wife, the poet and editor.

Award 5Alice Fay Di Castagnola Award, $1,000

For 10 pages of poetry from a manuscript-in-progress.

Previously published poems are acceptable; include acknowledgment of publications on your cover sheet. Poems entered as part of a Di Castagnola manuscript may be entered individually in other PSA awards, if they haven’t been previously published.

Offered in memory of a benefactor and friend of the PSA, and partially endowed by the Estate of Rachel Dalven, and the estate of Ellen Lamon Anderson.

Open to PSA Members & Non-Members
Awards 6 and 7 are open to all eligible poets

Award 6George Bogin Memorial Award, $500

For a selection of four or five poems that use language in an original way to reflect the encounter of the ordinary and the extraordinary and to take a stand against oppression in any of its forms.

Established by the family and friends of George Bogin.

Award 7Robert H. Winner Memorial Award,

For a manuscript of 10 pages by a mid-career by a poet who has not had substantial recognition. Open to poets 40 and over who have published no more than one full-length collection of poetry. Poets who have not published a book are eligible.

Previously published poems are acceptable; include acknowledgment of publications on your cover sheet. Poems entered as part of a Winner manuscript may be entered individually in other PSA awards, if they haven’t been previously published.

Established by the family and friends of Robert H. Winner, whose first book of poems appeared when he was almost fifty years old.

Submission Details & Instructions

  • Each submission should have one cover sheet and two copies of your poem/s.
  • Your name should only appear on the cover sheet.
  • You can submit to all the awards you are eligible.
  • Only one entry per award.
  • Mail all submissions in the same envelope.
  • A poem that has previously won a PSA Award cannot be re-submitted to any of the awards.
  • You cannot submit the same poem to more than one award.
    THE EXCEPTION: Individual poems submitted to Alice Fay Di Castagnola Award or Robert H. Winner Award may be submitted to another PSA award.
  • Previously published work cannot be submitted.
    THE EXCEPTION: The Alice Fay Di Castagnola Award and the Robert Winner Award. Please include publication acknowledgments on cover sheet.
  • Translations are ineligible.
  • Manuscripts by more than one author are ineligible.
  • Submissions from PSA employees, officers, or advisory board committee members are ineligible.


  • Include a self-addressed, stamped postcard for confirmation of receipt.
  • We cannot confirm receipt over phone or email.
  • We cannot accept any corrections or revisions to submissions.
  • No entries will be returned.
  • To withdraw submissions, email
  • The winners will be announced early April.

Enter for free

Become a member today and enter all awards for free


The Poetry Society of America is grateful to and admiring of the nation's poetry publishers for their faithful support and promotion of the art. In particular, we wish to thank the following book publishers for supporting our Annual Awards Ceremony.

Four Quartets Prize

The Four Quartets Prize is for a unified and complete sequence of poems published in America in a print or online journal, chapbook, or book.

Learn More

Chapbook Fellowships

Launched in 2003, the PSA's Chapbook Program publishes each winner's work as a gorgeous chapbook, allowing new voices to reach new audiences.

Learn More

Frost & Shelley Awards

The Frost Medal and Shelley Memorial Award recognize lifetime and mid-career achievement in poetry. By nomination only.

Learn More