Seeing Into Tomorrow

The Poetry Society of America launches a major new public art project in Brooklyn, featuring the haiku of Richard Wright.

More Info

Announcing the 2022 Four Quartets Prize

The T. S. Eliot Foundation and the Poetry Society of America are pleased to announce that Muriel Leung is the winner of the 2022 Four Quartets Prize for her collection Imagine Us, The Swarm (Nightboat Books, 2021).


Announcing the 2022 Shelley Memorial Award

Joyelle McSweeney has been named the winner of the 2022 Shelley Memorial Award. Established by the will of Mary P. Sears in 1930, The Shelley Memorial Award recognizes poetic genius and is bestowed upon one distinguished poet each year.

Selected by Rick Barot and Calvin Bedient.


Poems on Wheels

Poems delivered through Citymeals on Wheels

In partnership with Citymeals on Wheels our new program, Poems on Wheels delivers poems printed on keepsake cards with meal trays to individuals who are home-bound due to age, disability, or illness.

Learn More

Stopping By

During this extraordinary moment in time, we asked writers, musicians, curators, and innovators to reflect on influence, memory, language, shared spaces, and the power of poetry to bring us together.

Poetry in Motion

Poetry in Motion® places poetry in the transit systems of cities throughout the country exposing it to millions of viewers every day. It was launched by MTA New York City Transit and the Poetry Society of America in 1992. It currently appears in Los Angeles, Nashville, Providence, San Francisco, and New York City.

Enjoy a Poem

Lucille Clifton

Let there be new flowering

let there be new flowering
in the fields let the fields
turn mellow for the men
let the men keep tender
through the time let the time
be wrested from the war
let the war be won
let love be
at the end

"Let there be new flowering" from good woman: poems and a memoir 1969-1980 by Lucille Clifton. Copyright © 1987. Reprinted with the permission of BOA Editions, Ltd.