Annual Awards

The PSA's Annual Awards are among the most prestigious honors available to poets. They offer emerging and established poets recognition at all stages of their careers, including our student poetry award and book awards for publishers.

2020 Student Poetry Award

Awarded for the best unpublished poem by a student in grades 9 through 12 from the United States.

Endowed under the wills of Louise Louis Whitbread and Ruth M. Bourne.


October 1-December 23 2019

postmark date





Submission Details & Instructions

  • You can only submit one entry per student.
  • Teachers or administrators may submit an unlimited number of their students' poems, one submission per student.
  • A poem that has previously won a PSA Award cannot be re-submitted.
  • No previously published work can be submitted.
  • Translations are ineligible.
  • Poems by more than one author will not be accepted.
  • Entry should have one cover page and two collated copies of your poem.

The cover page must include:

  • Name
  • Mailing Address
  • Email (if available)
  • Phone
  • Name of the Award
  • Title and First Line of first poem in submission
  • Your name should not appear anywhere else besides this cover sheet.

The Poetry Society of America is grateful to and admiring of the nation's poetry publishers for their faithful support and promotion of the art. In particular, we wish to thank the following book publishers for supporting our Annual Awards Ceremony.

Four Quartets Prize

The Four Quartets Prize is for a unified and complete sequence of poems published in America in a print or online journal, chapbook, or book.

Learn More

Chapbook Fellowships

Launched in 2003, the PSA's Chapbook Program publishes each winner's work as a gorgeous chapbook, allowing new voices to reach new audiences.

Learn More

Frost & Shelley Awards

The Frost Medal and Shelley Memorial Award recognize lifetime and mid-career achievement in poetry. By nomination only.

Learn More