Annual Awards

The PSA's Annual Awards are among the most prestigious honors available to poets. They offer emerging and established poets recognition at all stages of their careers, including our student poetry award and book awards for publishers.

Anna Rabinowitz Award


October 1- December 31, 2021

postmark date



The Anna Rabinowitz Prize is awarded to poets and their collaborators for venturesome, interdisciplinary work made in the previous year and combining poetry and any other art or discipline.

Work that qualifies includes but is not limited to books that blend visual art and poetry, original performances of dance and poetry (or dance based on poetry ) and of music and poetry (including libretti based on poetry) as well as more eclectic collaborations involving poetry and technology, the sciences or math.

Candidates are required to provide material documenting their projects. These will be key to the judging process. Panels, discussions, and programs focused on dialogue between disciplines rather than the creation of a new work are not eligible.

The finished work should have been produced or published in 2021 but can involve or be based in part on work from any era. And all are welcome to apply singly if the work involving more than one discipline has been accomplished alone.

Honorarium: $1,000 to be divided equally between or among the principals if not awarded to a single artist.

The prize is established by the children of Anna Rabinowitz to honor her boundless curiosity, creativity, and artistic accomplishments.


Mónica de la Torre
works with and between languages. Her latest books include Repetition Nineteen published by Nightboat Books and The Happy End/All Welcome, published by Ugly Duckling Presse, which also put out her translation of Defense of the Idol by Chilean modernist Omar Cáceres in 2018. Born and raised in Mexico City, she is a contributing editor to BOMB Magazine. Recent writing appears in Artforum, A Public Space, and The Literary Review. She has taught at Columbia and Brown University and now teaches poetry at Brooklyn College.


If you are submitting a book or chapbook or printed materials please include:

  • Each entry should have one cover sheet with the following: Name, Address, Email, Phone, and Name of the Award.
  • An Artist Statement describing the aims of the work submitted (up to 500 words)
  • A Biographical Note (up to 500 words)
  • Two copies of the work submitted.

If you are submitting documentation of a performance or artwork please include a thumb drive with:

  • Documentation of your work in the following formats: jpeg, pdf, mp3, or mpeg (as applicable).
  • A PDF cover sheet which includes: Name, Address, Email, Phone, and Name of the Award.
  • A PDF of your Artist Statement describing the aims of the work submitted (up to 500 words)
  • A PDF of your Biographical Note (up to 500 words)
  • Place ALL files in a folder named: YOUR FIRST AND LAST NAME_Anna Rabinowitz Prize

Submissions from PSA employees, officers, or advisory board committee members are ineligible.


For an acknowledgment of receipt of submissions, please include a self-addressed, stamped postcard. Unfortunately we cannot acknowledge receipt over the phone or email.

The winners will be announced on our website by early April.

No entries will be returned.

Due to the volume of submissions we receive, we cannot inform entrants of incorrectly submitted or disqualified material, nor can we accept any corrections or revisions to submissions.

You may withdraw submissions by emailing

The Poetry Society of America is grateful to and admiring of the nation's poetry publishers for their faithful support and promotion of the art. In particular, we wish to thank the following book publishers for supporting our Annual Awards Ceremony.

Four Quartets Prize

The Four Quartets Prize is for a unified and complete sequence of poems published in America in a print or online journal, chapbook, or book.

Learn More

Chapbook Fellowships

Launched in 2003, the PSA's Chapbook Program publishes each winner's work as a gorgeous chapbook, allowing new voices to reach new audiences.

Learn More

Frost & Shelley Awards

The Frost Medal and Shelley Memorial Award recognize lifetime and mid-career achievement in poetry. By nomination only.

Learn More