Announcing the winners of the 2020 Poetry Society of America Chapbook Fellowships

October 02, 2020


Emily Lee Luan, I Watch the Boughs 
Selected by Gabrielle Calvocoressi

Nathan Xavier Osorio, The Last Town Before the Mojave
Selected by Oliver de la Paz


Margaret Ray, Superstitions of the Mid-Atlantic
Selected by Jericho Brown

Ethan Stebbins, Dear God
Selected by Kim Addonizio


Armen Davoudian, The Palace of Forty Pillars
Anna McDonald, Horse Piano

Each winner receives $1,000 and their chapbook will be published in Spring 2021 by the Poetry Society of America.

About the Fellows

Emily Lee Luan
is a Taiwanese American poet and essayist. A recipient of support from Bread Loaf Writers’ Conference, the Community of Writers, Art Farm, and the Fine Arts Work Center, her poems have appeared in Best New Poets (2019), The Offing, The Adroit Journal, Washington Square Review, and elsewhere, and were selected by Ada Limón for the 2020 New Ohio Review Poetry Prize. She is a 2020 Margins Fellow at the Asian American Writers’ Workshop and holds an MFA in Poetry from Rutgers University-Newark.

Nathan Xavier Osorio is the son of a Mexican grocer and Nicaraguan nurse. His poetry and translations have appeared in BOMB, The Offing, The Grief Diaries, Boston Review's Poems for Political Disaster, and elsewhere. His reviews and interviews have appeared in Columbia Journal, Publishers Weekly, and Letras Latinas’ La Bloga. He holds an MFA in poetry from Columbia University and is currently a PhD student in Literature and Creative Writing at the University of California, Santa Cruz.

Margaret Ray
grew up in Gainesville, Florida and holds an MFA from the Warren Wilson Program for Writers. A winner of the Third Coast Poetry Prize, her poems have appeared in FIELD, The Gettysburg Review, Threepenny Review, Michigan Quarterly Review, Alaska Quarterly Review, and elsewhere. She teaches in New Jersey.

Ethan Stebbins is a poet and stonemason from Maine. His poems have appeared in Poetry, FOLDER, The Los Angeles Review, The Hudson Review, Diode, Bellevue Literary Review, Best New Poets 2008, and other publications. He holds an M.A. in English and American Literature from New York University, where he received a fellowship from the New York Times Foundation for poetry.